2010-07-02_416Before we begin, there is one thing you should know about me.  When I get excited about something, I cannot contain it.  I am compelled to express and share my excitement with whomever is willing to listen.  Right now I am feeling downright giddy about the Social Justice theme of this year’s International  Conference and our keynote speaker, Dr. Caprice Hollins.  I recently had the privilege of speaking with Dr. Hollins and was struck by her warm tone and openness to discuss just about anything.  I saw the same qualities in a recording of her speech at the 2013 Northwest Public Employees Diversity Conference.  I was especially inspired by her ability to balance her personal passion and drive while creating an atmosphere of acceptance and compassion.  I am truly looking forward to the opportunity to meet her in person and hear her speak, and I can’t wait to attend her workshop on cultural competency as well.  Given that Social Justice is the theme of this conference, I am hopeful that we will all be able dig deep within ourselves as well as learn from the experiences of others in order to help deal with some of the very real issues we must face as educators.  This year’s workshop roster will touch on topics such as access to resources, bullying, creating inclusive environments for transgender students, working with marginalized populations, and so much more.  The AEE community is full of progressive and innovative educators and having us all in the same place provides such an amazing opportunity to learn and grow.  I truly believe that this will be one of our best conferences yet!

Author – Dan Miller, Director of Professional Development and Standards
The Association for Experiential Education

